Think I am just thinking.

Words are but thoughts made visible.

Am I strong yet?

Day 3 of building the back yard fence.

   Section of fence do not stand up to the wind.Well, I got home late on Day 2, so didn’t get as much done as planed.  Made it home earlier today, so I was able to once again dig in and continue the back yard fence project.  Still haven’t started putting up anything new yet.  It’s amazing just how much work it is taking down the old fence.  Biggest thing is getting all the nails out, so the boards can be safely disposed of without creating a natural bed of “lock jaw”, waiting for some unfortunate person to come along and step on one of those old rusty nails.  Some day I’ll have to tell you about the Pole-Barn nail I stepped on as a child. 

  Anyway, getting back to the subjet, I currently have

Wind blows over back yard tree.

Wind blows over back yard tree. Section of fence do not stand up to the wind.

over half of the old fence disasembled and ready for haul away.   Having the weekend ahead will give me more time to start working on installing some of the new sections.  At this point, I’m really getting somewhat tired of only working on old stuff.  I feel like I need to work onn something new, to give me a sign that I am making progress.  

  Of course lifting all these boards is proving to be a really good workout.  So far, I’ve dropped two pounds and I not sure, but the boards seem lighter.  Really thought it was working until my wife pointed out the first boards being lifted were the new freshly treated boards.  All the boards I’ve been lifting during tear-down, are the old ones, which being somewhat aged, do weight about half of what they did new. 

   It was a nice illusion while it lasted.  So, tomorrow , it’s back to reality.  Time to break out the post hole digger.

July 25, 2008 - Posted by | thinking | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

