Think I am just thinking.

Words are but thoughts made visible.

Olympic Swimming, Backstroke, Breaststroke, Freestyle, Back-float.

  Watching the Olympic swimmers this evening, I do have to admire the skill and abilities of all the swimmers being so good at so many styles of swimming.  I’ve tried doing the backstroke and found that I really did like it.  Mainly because my head is always out of the water which positions my head and mouth in a position that allows me to BREATH!  I have always found this to be important.

    Though I can do the breaststroke, it’s does appear to be more of a modified dog-pattle if you ask me.  My freestyle is really good for the first few feet, but then I find it really necessary to get my head out of the water in order to BREATH! 

   So we finally come to the one style not really recognised by the Olympics and this is the Back-float.  I would love to be able to say I am a great back-floater, but truth be told, I am more of a Titanic back-floater.  My head does really good but for some reason my legs get pulled down by my feet and I find myself slipping into the deep like a warship who has taken a direct hit a stern.  As my feet hit an angle of about 45 degrees, my body just slips down below the surface.  As my head drops below the waterline, I keep wondering where my lifeboat is.

August 14, 2008 - Posted by | Exercise, Olympics, thinking, thoughts | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

