Think I am just thinking.

Words are but thoughts made visible.

Head Cold is back again!

     Seems like it was only a couple months ago, I was making note about having a cold.  Actually, I think it was only a couple months ago.   But, regardless, here I am again suffering through the sneezing, runny nose, stuffed up nasal passages and sinus pressure like little balloons hyper inflating themselves inside the front of my skull.  What to do?

      Well the options are to takes lots of cold medicine which does slow down the runny nose and deaden the sinus pain, but leave me feeling all groggy and medicine head extreme.  Or, I can not take the medicine and put up with a noise that runs like Niagara Falls during flood season and bouts of sneezing that could be harnessed to turn wind turbines!  

     It’s ruff not getting uninterrupted sleep at night.  I wake up, with fluid leaking from one or the other nostril which by the second night was really becoming more than just annoying.  So, it was time for the nasal plug.  What’s a nasal plug you ask?  Well, it is simply a small piece of tissue folded over to form a wad of tissue just the right size to stuff up the end of the offending nostril to stop the drip, drip, drip of post-nasal drip.  As you cannot breath through you nose anyway, it’s mouth breathing through the rest of the night until my lips are parched leather.

     So, how long will this one last, I ask myself?  Well tonight will be night three, and I feel a little better than yesterday.  So, based on past experiences of the last year, only another two or three days until I am right as rain!  Just in time for Spring no less.

    In the meantime, it time to go take another shot of decongestant, pain killer, cough suppressant, antihistamine medicine to make me feel less pain, and slightly less human.   Ah, the power of modern medicine!

March 12, 2009 - Posted by | Cold, cough | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

