Think I am just thinking.

Words are but thoughts made visible.

Perhaps just more than a Cold?

   Well here I am six days later and still fighting off the “THE COLD”, or side effects there off.  Well five days ago, I gave up, and went to the doctor for meds.  Seems what was a cold morphed into a slight bronchial lung infection.  I am now on my final day of a five-day regiment of Azithromycin, which is an antibiotic found to be effective for this type of thing.  That combined with some Muslex to aid in getting some of the gunk out of my lungs, has help put me back on to the road to recovery.

   In doing some research, I have learned about gram-negative and gram-positive bacteria.  Seems like the type of bacteria I feel victim to was the gram-negative variety of bacteria.  The interesting thing about colds is sometimes the thing that really makes you sick is not the cold, but the side effect flare-up of other things that can grow while your immune system is busy fighting off the cold virus.   So as it turns out, a bacterium’s best friend turns out to be a virus!

   Well today, I can once again breathe without having to take what feels like forced breaths.  Unlike a couple of days ago, I can also take a deep breath without feeling a slight deep-seated pain on the right-sided of my chest.  And last night was about the first night in three weeks that I did not have to keep blowing my nose throughout the night.  It was also the first night I was able to sleep in increments greater than a couple of hours, unlike the last couple weeks. 

   I find it truly hard to imagine what things were like back before there were the medicines we have available to us to-day.   When it comes to illnesses, I must say, “I do not long for the good ol’ days”!

February 20, 2011 - Posted by | Cold, Cold, cough, Flu, Healthcare, Illness, sick

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

