Think I am just thinking.

Words are but thoughts made visible.

IT’s been awhile!

Well, it’s been a while since I’ve added anything new. So, just to let you know I’m still out here alive and living, here I am. Well, I’m happy to say that so far I have not caught covid, and or if I did, I was totally without any symptoms and didn’t know I had it. I will say that I have gotten every Covid 19 booster that has been made available. I for one, do believe in the science behind vaccines, and all the data (REAL FACTS), that show the effectiveness of each of them. On a related note, I recently got my second of the two shot Shingles vaccine, as well as the pneumonia vaccine. I am of that age, where my ol’ body just doesn’t work as well as it used to, and I need all the help I can get to stay one step ahead of one of those little virus buggers that are out looking for me.

At this point, I’m no longer wearing a mask when in public. The odds of coming into contact with a virus I have not already received a vaccine for, to boost my immunity for, are about as low as I could hope to get them.

Regarding masks, do I think that masks work? Yes, I do. Do I think they helped during the peak of the pandemic? Well, again the answer is yes, based on all the data showing that they were helpful. The one problem with masks is that most people don’t know how to use them. There are right and wrong ways to put them on and take them off. Just as there are proper ways to handle them once removed, to reduce likelihood of cross contamination from the outside of the mask to hands and other body parts. And where the cloth masks as helpful? No, they were not, but they did greatly help reduce people with covid from spreading it even more. But, regardless of how you do it, if you reduce the overall numbers of a virus entering your body, your body has better odds of fighting off those that do.

I recently read some reports showing that the number of people showing signs of longer-term effects of getting Covid (Long Covid) are much higher than originally thought. Plus, the percentage of those with “long covid” effects are about the same between vaccinated and unvaccinated individuals. What I didn’t see in the report is if the effects of those who get long covid, are less in the vaccinated as compared to non-vaccinated people. But we do know that the percentages of people who have gotten Covid are much higher for non-vaccinated people, so it would seem logical that the percentage of people with long-covid symptoms would be highest among non-vaccinated people, as compared to the general population. I’ll be looking for updated reports related to this.

The one thing that our media has somewhat dropped from the news, is that there are still people dying every day from the effects of having Covid. As all the states have dropped tracking and reporting statistics about covid cases, it’s much harder to know exactly what the number and percentages are. In part perhaps because, like the flu virus, covid has spread so far and wide, that it has now been able to mutate into untold variants. As such, it appears as though, that just like the common flu bug, the covid bug is with us to stay.

That reminds me, they just approved a new covid booster with all the latest known strains of coverage. So, unlike the flu vaccine, we seem to be needing to generate a new covid vaccine every 4-6 months right now. Perhaps in another couple years we will be down to a once a year shot, we can get at the same time as our flu shot.

Well, I can hope, can’t I.

June 11, 2023 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a comment